Skip to main content




Students at the University of Washington School of Law have the opportunity to join Washington Law Review upon completion of their first year of law school or during the winter quarter of their second year. Membership is competitive and based on academic performance and writing competency.

Candidates for membership serve on Law Review for two academic years. In their first year, candidates edit and review material for publication, and also write a full-length piece of legal scholarship. In their second year, candidates serve in one of Washington Law Review‘s five departments—Office of the Editor-in-Chief, Articles, Notes & Comments, Online, and Office of the Managing Editor—as either an editor or as a member of Law Review‘s Editorial Board.


First-year students and transfer applicants interested in joining Washington Law Review must participate in the Melissa S. Landers Write-On competition. The Melissa S. Landers Write-On competition is held at the end of June. The competition includes a writing component and a personal statement.

Typically, Law Review selects approximately thirty-five new members from the write-on competition, with service to Law Review beginning the summer before the second year of law school. First-year students and transfer students receive invitations based on the quality of their write-on submission.

Transfer students who have not accepted their place at UW Law in time to participate in the Melissa S. Landers Write-On competition are invited to join the Second-Year Student Write-On Competition in the Winter.



Washington Law Review also sponsors a competition for second-year students during the winter quarter. Interested students submit pieces of original scholarship that meaningfully contribute to legal discourse. Law Review typically extends invitations to one to two second-year students, based on the quality of the manuscript they submit. Please read the official rules before applying.

For more information about the second-year competition, please contact our Editor-in-Chief at